NCDs between Affluence and Neglect

Please join us for our next KCL-LSHTM Critical Global Health Seminar on Non-Communicable Diseases between Affluence and Neglect, which will take place on Tuesday 21 March 2017, 4-5.30 pm, in room 1.71 in the Francis Wilkes Building at King’s College London, Stamford Street, Waterloo Campus, London SE1 9NH. Professor Megan Vaughan, a Professor of African History and Health at University College London’s Institute of Advanced Studies, will discuss her current Wellcome Trust-funded research on the history of the epidemiological transition and chronic disease in sub-Saharan Africa. She will be joined by Dr Carlo Caduff and Dr David Reubi, from King’s College London, as discussants.

Jointly organised by King’s College London (KCL) and the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), the Critical Global Health Seminar Series brings together critically-minded social scientists, public health experts and practitioners together to debate key areas of concern for global health today and reflect on how these should be approached and explored. The seminars are organised as a platform for social scientists working in the field to present and reflect on their current and planned research in discussion with the chair-discussant and the audience. More broadly, the aim of the series is to provide a forum to discuss emerging contradictions and frictions in global health research and policy as well as the challenges and opportunities these present to social scientific inquiry. Through open-ended and candid exchange on the experiences of working in the global health field, we seek to develop new avenues for critical thought in the social sciences and beyond.

For further information, please contact one of the organisers: Dr Clare Chandler (clare.chandler@lshtm.ac.uk), Dr Ann Kelly (ann.kelly@kcl.ac.uk), Dr Melissa Parker (melissa.parker@lshtm.ac.uk), Dr Clare Herrick (clare.herrick@kcl.ac.uk), Dr John Manton (john.manton@lshtm.ac.uk) and Dr David Reubi (david.reubi@kcl.ac.uk).